Who We Are

The Superior Court in San Diego County is part of the California trial court system, which is the largest of its kind in the world with 58 trial courts throughout the state (one in each county). San Diego is the second largest court system in the state.

The three largest courts in California are:

  • Los Angeles County
  • San Diego County
  • Orange County

Each trial court in California is managed by a Presiding Judge. In San Diego, the Presiding Judge is the Honorable Maureen F. Hallahan, who receives policy advice from an Executive Committee of Judges. Elected by fellow judges, the Presiding Judge serves a two-year term. Day-to-day oversight and administrative management are provided by the Court Executive Officer. In San Diego, the Court Executive Officer is Michael Roddy, who receives policy and administrative advice and support from the Executive Team.

The State Court System is governed by a 27-member Judicial Council led by the State's Supreme Court Chief Justice. The Judicial Council is the policy-making body of the California Courts and is responsible for ensuring the consistent, independent, impartial and accessible administration of justice.

Hon. Maureen F. Hallahan
Presiding Judge

Michael Roddy
Court Executive Officer