Jury Services Quick Links
Jury Duty General Information
SENATE BILL 310 – JURY SERVICE (FELONY CONVICTIONS)
An amendment to the Code of Civil Procedure section 203, which defines who is ineligible for jury duty. will take effect January 1, 2020. The new law makes persons previously convicted of a felony now eligible and qualified, unless they are incarcerated in any prison or jail, or persons who have been convicted of a felony and are currently on parole, post release community supervision, felony probation, or mandated supervision for the conviction of a felony, and persons who are currently required to register as a sex offender based on a felony conviction (Penal Code 290).
More information on the bill can be found here.
Qualifications for Jury Service
California law says you are qualified to be a juror if you:
- Are a U.S. citizen
- Are at least 18 years old
- Are living in the State of California
- Are a resident of the county that sent you the jury summons
- Have had your civil rights restored if you were convicted of a felony or malfeasance while holding public office
- Can understand English enough to understand and discuss the case
- Are not currently on a grand jury or on another trial jury
- Are not under a conservatorship
If you do not meet all of the qualifications listed above, please complete the Disqualification Section on the back of your Summons for Jury Service. Mark the appropriate box and fill in any information you are asked for. Then mail it to the court using the enclosed return envelope.
Pursuant to Code of Civil Procedure, section 204(a), no one is exempt because of his or her occupation, economic status, race, national origin, ethnic group identification, religion, age, sex, sexual orientation, color, disability, or for any other reason.
Length of Service
Most jury trials last 3 - 7 days, but some may go longer. The Superior Court uses the "One Day/One Trial" program under California Rules of Court, rule 2.1002, which is intended to make jury service more convenient by shortening the time that a person is required to serve to one day or one trial. Under the "One Day/One Trial" program and the Summons for Jury Service you received, you are only required to appear for jury service for one day unless you are assigned to a trial. If you are assigned to a trial and sworn in as a juror, you will continue your service until the trial is completed. Click here for more information.
Business casual dress is recommended.
All jurors entering the courthouse are required to go through a weapons screening process conducted by the Sheriff's Department. Please do not bring into the courthouse any objects that could be used as a weapon; including but not limited to
Also prohibited are:
If you have items that are not allowed, you may be asked to leave the courthouse and return without them.
California pays jurors $15 every day starting on the second day of service, except employees of governmental entities who receive full pay and benefits from their employers while on jury service. All jurors receive at least 34 cents for each mile they travel to court. The mileage payment, only for one-way travel, also starts on the second day. Jurors serving at the Central Courthouse also have the option to receive transit passes for each day they serve.
Wireless Internet Access
The San Diego Superior Court provides free Wireless Internet Access for jurors serving at each court branch. Access information will be provided during juror orientation.