
POS-020
ATTORNEY OR PARTY WITHOUT ATTORNEY (Name, State Bar number, and address):

PROOF OF PERSONAL SERVICE—CIVIL

I am over 18 years of age and not a party to this action.
I served the following documents (specify):

I personally served the following persons at the address, date, and time stated:
Name:

b. Address:

I am

registered California process server.
exempt from registration under Business & Professions 

a.

d.

My name, address, telephone number, and, if applicable, county of registration and number are (specify):

6. I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is true and correct. 
7.

Date:

(TYPE OR PRINT NAME OF PERSON WHO SERVED THE PAPERS) (SIGNATURE OF PERSON WHO SERVED THE PAPERS)

Code of Civil Procedure, § 1011 
www.courtinfo.ca.gov

Form Approved for Optional Use 
Judicial Council of California 
POS-020 [New January 1, 2005]

PROOF OF PERSONAL SERVICE—CIVIL

FOR COURT USE ONLY

CASE NUMBER:

1.
2.

3.
a.

c.

4.
not a registered California process server. 
a registered California process server.

an employee or independent contractor of a
b.

c.

Code section 22350(b).

5.

I am a California sheriff or marshal and certify that the foregoing is true and correct.

PETITIONER/PLAINTIFF:

RESPONDENT/DEFENDANT:

E-MAIL ADDRESS (Optional):

ATTORNEY FOR (Name):

SUPERIOR COURT OF CALIFORNIA, COUNTY OF
STREET ADDRESS:

MAILING ADDRESS:

CITY AND ZIP CODE:

BRANCH NAME:

FAX NO. (Optional):

(Do not use this Proof of Service to show service of a Summons and Complaint.)

The documents are listed in the Attachment to Proof of Personal Service—Civil (Documents Served) (form POS-020(D)).

d.
Date:
Time:

The persons are listed in the Attachment to Proof of Personal Service—Civil (Persons Served) (form POS-020(P)).

TELEPHONE NO.:



INFORMATION SHEET FOR PROOF OF PERSONAL SERVICE—CIVIL

Use these instructions to complete the Proof of Personal Service (form POS-020).
A person at least 18 years of age or older must serve the documents.  There are two main ways to serve documents:
(1) by personal delivery and (2) by mail. Certain documents must be personally served.  You must determine whether 
personal service is required for a document.

INSTRUCTIONS FOR THE PERSON WHO SERVED THE DOCUMENTS 
The proof of service should be printed or typed.  If you have Internet access, fillable versions of the form are available at 
www.courtinfo.ca.gov/forms.

First box, left side: In this box print the name, address, and phone number of the person for whom you served the
documents.

Second box, left side: Print the name of the county in which the legal action is filed and the court’s address in this box.  
The address for the court should be the same as on the documents that you served.

Third box, left side: Print the names of the Petitioner/Plaintiff and Respondent/Defendant in this box. Use the same 
names as are listed on the documents that you served.

Second box, right side: Print the case number in this box. The number should be the same as the case number on the 
documents that you served.

You are stating that you are over the age of 18 and that you are not a party to this action. 

Check the box that applies to you. If you are a private person serving the documents for a party, check box “a.”
Print your name, address, and telephone number. If applicable, include the county in which you are registered as a
process server and your registration number.
You must check this box if you are not a California sheriff or marshal. You are stating under penalty of perjury that the
information you have provided is true and correct. 
Do not check this box unless you are a California sheriff or marshal.

At the bottom,  fill in the date on which you signed the form, print your name, and sign the form at the arrow.  By 
signing, you are stating under penalty of perjury that all the information that you have provided on form POS-020 
is true and correct.

POS-020 [New January 1, 2005]
PROOF OF PERSONAL SERVICE—CIVIL

1.

2.

3.

4.
5.

6.

7.

(This information sheet is not a part of the Proof of Service form and does not need to be copied, served, or filed.)  

Complete all applicable items on the form:

NOTE:  This form should not be used for proof of service of a summons and complaint.  For that purpose, use Proof of 
Service of Summons (form POS-010).

The person who personally served the documents must complete a proof of service form for the documents served. You 
cannot serve documents if you are a party to the action.

List the name of each document that you delivered to the person.  If you need more space, check the box in item 2, 
complete the Attachment to Proof of Personal Service–Civil (Documents Served) (form POS-020(D)), and attach it to 
form POS-020.

Provide the name of each person served, the address where you served the documents, and the date and time of 
service.  If you served more than one person, check the box in item 3, complete the Attachment to Proof of Personal 
Service–Civil (Persons Served) (form POS-020(P)), and attach it to form POS-020.

First box, top of form, right side: Leave this box blank for the court’s use. 

Complete the top section of the proof of service form as follows:
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