SCSD HomeClick here for COVID-19 response information.
Court Seal, Superior Court of California, County of San Diego
General Information HomeGeneral Information Home  
News and NoticesNews and Notices  
Judges and DepartmentsJudges and Departments  
Rules of CourtRules of Court  
Accessing Court RecordsAccessing Court Records  
Fee TableFee Table  
Hours and holidaysHours and holidays  
Contact UsContact Us  
SelfHelp CenterSelfHelp Center  
Language AccessLanguage Access  
Purchasing & ContractingPurchasing & Contracting  
Media and EducationMedia and Education  
Volunteer OpportunitiesVolunteer Opportunities  
Related LinksRelated Links  
About UsAbout Us  

Hall of Justice

Superior Court of California - County of San Diego: General Information: Rules of Court: Department Rules: Department 64
Department 64 Policies and Procedures - Honorable John S. Meyer
Central - Central Courthouse
Rev. April 28, 2021

Honorable John S. Meyer, Presiding

Department Staff:
Judge: John S. Meyer (619) 450-7064
Calendar Clerk: (619) 450-7303 - Phone hours: 8:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m.
Courtroom Clerk: (619) 450-7064
Bailiff: (619) 450-7064

This department has not attempted to memorialize the myriad of rules and procedures required of counsel engaged in civil litigation from filing through trial. It is assumed that all state and local rules and procedures are understood and will be followed.

The following rules and procedures will be followed in Department 64.

  1. Law and Motion Matters. All law and motion matters are set for appearance hearings. Law and motion matters will generally be heard on Friday at 10:30 a.m. Tentative rulings will be made available by 4:00 p.m. on the court day prior to the scheduled hearing. Tentative rulings may be obtained by calling (619) 450-7381, or by navigating to the Court's website. No notice of intent to appear is required to appear for oral argument. The tentative ruling will not become the final ruling of the Court until the hearing.

  2. Case Management Conferences. Case management conferences are held at staggered times on Friday morning. Counsel shall file the Case Management Conference Statement 15 days prior to the conference. At case management conferences, no matters will be set for arbitration unless requested by both parties.

  3. Trial Readiness Conferences. Trial readiness conferences are held at 8:30 a.m. on Friday. A completed joint trial readiness conference report shall be brought to the hearing.

  4. Ex Parte Matters. Ex parte appearances are by reservation only on Tues., Wed., and Thurs. at 8:30 a.m. Check in time is 8:15 a.m. No ex parte matter will be heard unless supporting papers are filed no later than 12:00 p.m. of the day before the hearing.

    No ex parte appearances are required for the following:
    -Stipulation for order extending arbitration date for 30 days or less.
    -Stipulation for order extending expert designation dates.
    -Order for publication with declaration of due diligence.
    -Stipulation to continue trial.

  5. Trial Calls. Trial calls are held on Friday at 9:00 a.m. Counsel should expect to commence trial on the Monday following trial call. At trial call, all exhibits will have been shared with opposing counsel, pre-marked and memorialized in an up-to-date exhibit book. Any and all exhibits, demonstrative aids or other material to be used in opening statements will have been shared with opposing counsel. Any and all in limine motions and trial briefs must be filed at least 5 court days prior to trial call. Opposition to all in limine motions must be filed no later than 3 court days the day preceding trial call.

  6. Trials. Trials will take place Mon.-Thurs. from 9:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m. and 1:30 p.m. to 4:30 p.m. Jury and reporter fees will be paid each day of trial.

  7. Settlement Conferences. Settlement briefs are to be no more than 5 pages and must be received by the Court no later than 4:00 p.m., two days before the settlement conference. Settlement conferences will be calendared for Friday afternoons. By submitting to a settlement conference in Department 64, the parties agree that this Court will not be disqualified from presiding over the trial should the case not settle.

  8. Miscellaneous

    1. Ex Parte Matters, Failures to Comply, Case Management Conferences, Trial Readiness Conferences, and Trial Calls will be conducted in chambers off the record. Any counsel desiring otherwise should advise the Court no later than 4:00 p.m. the day preceding the hearing or conference. Any matter in which one party is in pro per will be conducted on the record in the courtroom.

    2. No documents (i.e., Certificates of Progress or Certificates of Service) will be accepted for filing in chambers. All such documents must be duly presented for filing in the courtroom in advance of the hearing.

    3. Requests for Default Judgment by Court will proceed by filing an application (no appearance required) that complies with the guidelines for default judgment contained in Appendix "A" of the Coordinated Rules of Court. In the event a Default Prove-up hearing is required, contact the calendar clerk to schedule the hearing. Default Prove-up hearings are calendared for Friday afternoons. (Please note you must still comply with the applicable guidelines per Appendix "A.")

    4. Counsel may not communicate with the staff attorney.

TELEPHONIC RULING WEBSITE: SDCourt Civil Law and Motion Rulings

Policies and Procedures

Central Division - Central Courthouse
Department 703 
Hon. Judy S. Bae
Department 904 
Hon. Lisa R. Rodriguez
Department 1603 
Hon. Robert C. Longstreth
Probate Department 502 
Hon. John B. Scherling
Probate Department 503 
Hon. Julia Craig Kelety
Probate Department 504 
Hon. Jeffrey S. Bostwick

Central Division - Hall of Justice
Department 64 
Hon. John S. Meyer
Department 65 
Hon. Ronald F. Frazier
Department 66 
Hon. Kenneth J. Medel
Department 67 
Hon. Eddie C. Sturgeon
Department 68 
Hon. Richard S. Whitney
Department 69 
Hon. Katherine A. Bacal
Department 70 
Hon. Carolyn M. Caietti
Department 71 
Hon. Gregory W. Pollack
Department 72 
Hon. Timothy B. Taylor
Department 73 
Hon. Joel R. Wohlfeil
Department 74 
Hon. Keri Katz
Department 75 
Hon. Richard E. L. Strauss

North County Division
Department N-27 
Hon. Cynthia A. Freeland
Department N-28 
Hon. Earl H. Maas, III
Department N-29 
Hon. Robert P. Dahlquist
Department N-31 
Hon. Blaine K. Bowman
HelpSite MapUse/Privacy Policy

© 2020 Court Information Technology
Superior Court of California, County of San Diego