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PETITION FOR DISMISSAL – GENERAL INFORMATION  

(PEN. CODE, § 1203.4b) 
Eligibility Pen. Code, 

§ 1203.4b 
Petitioner may be eligible for relief if: 
 While serving a sentence in this case, successfully participated in one of the following: 

o California Conservation Camp Program as an incarcerated individual hand crew 
member. 

o An institutional firehouse operated by CA Dept. of Corrections and Rehabilitation. 
o As a member of a county incarcerated individual hand crew. 

 Petitioner adequately performed the hand crew duties and did not engage in any conduct 
that warranted removal from the program.  

 Petitioner has been released from custody. 
 Petitioner is not currently charged with the commission of any other offense. 
 
Petitioner is not required to complete the term of probation, parole, or supervised release. 

Ineligible 
Violations 

Convictions for any of the following offenses are ineligible for relief: murder; kidnapping; rape 
(as defined in Penal Code sections 261(a)(2), 261(a)(6), 262(a)(1), or 262(a)(4)); lewd acts 
on a child under 14 years of age (as defined in Penal Code section 288); any felony 
punishable by death or imprisonment in state prison for life; any sex offense requiring 
registration pursuant to Penal Code section 290; escape from a secure perimeter within the 
previous 10 years; or arson. 

Case Status The case must be an adjudicated matter.  This means that petitioner has either entered a 
plea of guilty or no contest, or a guilty verdict was entered, and petitioner was sentenced.  
The case or charges were not previously dismissed. 

Petition Location The petition for dismissal must be filed in the court in which the matter was adjudicated. 

 

Form Court policy requires the filing of a Petition for Dismissal – Petition (Pen. Code, § 1203.4b) 
(SDSC Form #CRM-327).  A separate petition must be submitted for each case number.   

Supporting 
Documents 

If the petition is based on the interest of justice, a declaration stating the reasons why 
dismissal is appropriate must be attached to the Petition.  A Declaration form (JC Form #MC-
030) may be used.  

Providing 
Notice 

The appropriate prosecuting agency must be given 15 calendar days’ notice of the filing of 
the petition to allow time for the filing of an optional objection to the petition.  It is the 
petitioner’s responsibility to serve the prosecuting agency with any petition filed.   

Processing 
Time 

A hearing date will be set approximately 60 days from date the petition is filed.  Typically, the 
court will rule on the petition at the time of the hearing. 

Granting 
of the 
Petition 

If granted, a notation will be entered on the record, but granting relief does not: 
 Seal, destroy, or remove any entries from the court, law enforcement, or Department of Justice records, 

and the conviction may be pled and proved as a prior conviction in a subsequent case; 
 Relieve the petitioner of obligations/consequences related to possession/control of firearms (Pen. Code, 

§ 29800 et seq) or driver license revocation (Veh. Code, § 13555); 
 Remove the obligation to disclose the conviction in an application for licensure by the Commission on 

Teacher Credentialing, a position as a peace officer, public office, or contracting with the California State 
Lottery Commission; 

 Permit a petitioner prohibited from holding office as a result of the conviction to hold public office; 
 Relieve petitioner of the duty to register as a sex offender (Pen. Code, § 290.5); or release the petitioner 

from the terms and conditions of any unexpired criminal protective order issued under Penal Code 
sections 136.2(i)(1), 273.5(j), 368(l), or 646.9(k). 
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