Court Seal, Superior Court of California, County of San Diego
Family & Children HomeFamily & Children Home  
Divorce & ParentageDivorce & Parentage  
Custody & VisitationCustody & Visitation  
Child SupportChild Support  
Domestic ViolenceDomestic Violence  
Restraining OrdersRestraining Orders  
Self Help ServicesSelf Help Services  
Frequently Asked QuestionsFrequently Asked Questions  
Family Law ImagingFamily Law Imaging  
Family Law RulesFamily Law Rules  
Legal InformationLegal Information  

Superior Court of California - County of San Diego: Family & Children: Divorce & Parentage: One Day Divorce Program

to see if you qualify
for the program

The One Day Divorce Program assists parties with divorce cases filed in downtown San Diego Central Family Court to finish their case and get a final judgment. Eligible parties will receive hands on assistance in finalizing all of the necessary forms to obtain the final Judgment of divorce or separation. Parties who successfully complete the process will go before a judge the same day and will leave court with a final Judgment of Dissolution of Marriage or Legal Separation.

Who Can Participate?

The One Day Divorce Program is for self-represented litigants who have a dissolution of marriage (divorce) case filed in downtown San Diego Central Family Court at least six months ago and are ready for judgment. Your case may be ready for judgment if you can answer Yes to all of the following questions:

  1. Has it been at least 6 months since you filed your petition for divorce or separation?
  2. Are both of you self-represented (do not have a lawyer)?
  3. Has the summons and petition been served on Respondent?
  4. Has a Proof of Service of Summons OR a Response been filed with the Court?
  5. Have you and your spouse reached an agreement on all orders that will be included in your judgment, including division of property and debts, spousal support, and if you have children, a parenting plan and child support? (this is not a requirement if you are the petitioner, your spouse has not filed a response AND he or she does not intend to participate in the clinic.)

Caution! If you or your spouse has retirement benefits that were earned during the marriage, you will not be able to complete your judgment unless the retirement benefits are listed in your Petition and/or Response.

If you are the Respondent, you may not participate in the program without the Petitioner.

 Back to Top

What Should I Bring with Me?

  • A copy of all documents relating to your case. Your papers should be organized by date, with the oldest paperwork on the bottom and the newest on the top:
    • All COMPLETED forms the one day divorce assistant e-mailed you;
    • Copies of ALL documents you have filed with the court related to your divorce;
    • Copies of ALL documents you have received from the court or your spouse related to your divorce; 
    • Written proof of your income from all sources for the past 12 months
    • Pay stubs for the last two months
    • Your W-2 forms for last year
    • Your latest tax return
    • If you are disabled, proof of your disability and monthly disability income
    • If you are unemployed, proof of your unemployment and monthly unemployment income
    • Information about your monthly expenses
    • Two Self Addressed Stamped envelopes
  • Filing fees if you don't qualify for a fee waiver.

Child Care

Divorce discussions are not appropriate for minor children to hear or see. While child care facilities are available at each courthouse, space is limited. If you have minor children, you are encouraged to make other child care arrangements while visiting the courthouse. If your minor child does accompany you during your visit, please be advised that you may be asked to return at a later date if having your child with you makes it difficult to provide service.

 Back to Top

HelpSite MapUse/Privacy Policy

© 2016 Court Information Technology
Superior Court of California, County of San Diego