SCSD HomeThe Family Law Facilitator’s Office which provide self-represented litigants with assistance on their family law case will be unavailable on Friday, July 27, 2018.  The closure will allow time for annual mandatory staff training.
Court Seal, Superior Court of California, County of San Diego
 
Juvenile Court HomeJuvenile Court Home  
Juvenile Drug Court HomeJuvenile Drug Court Home  
Program DescriptionProgram Description  
Eligibility GuidelinesEligibility Guidelines  
Drug Court ProcessDrug Court Process  
Drug Court RulesDrug Court Rules  
Frequently Asked QuestionsFrequently Asked Questions  
Publications and LinksPublications and Links  
Testimonials/AccomplishmentsTestimonials/Accomplishments  
LocationsLocations  
Volunteer OpportunitiesVolunteer Opportunities  





 
Superior Court of California - County of San Diego: Juvenile: Juvenile Drug Court: Frequently Asked Questions
 

Juvenile Drug Court Frequently Asked Questions

  1. How many Juvenile Drug Courts are there in San Diego County and when do they meet?
  2. What happens if my child was not accepted into drug court but continues to have alcohol/substance abuse issues?
  3. Will I be kicked out of Drug Court if I relapse and test positive?
  4. How does Drug Court differ from other Juvenile Court substance abuse services or programs?
  5. What happens if I successfully complete Juvenile Drug Court?
  6. What are the goals of Juvenile Drug Court?
  7. Do parents/guardians participate in Drug Court?


1. How many Juvenile Drug Courts are there in San Diego County and when do they meet?

There are three weekly Juvenile Drug Courts. The Monday afternoon Drug Court meets at 3 p.m. in Dept. 8 of the Juvenile Court. The Wednesday afternoon Juvenile Drug Court is held in Department 9 of the Vista Courthouse. Department 10 of the Juvenile Court holds the Thursday afternoon Juvenile Drug Court. Minors are assigned to a specific Juvenile Drug Court based on their geographic residence in the County.

 Back to Top

2. What happens if my child was not accepted into drug court but continues to have alcohol/substance abuse issues?

A minor who was not accepted into Drug Court, but who continues to experience difficulty living a sober lifestyle may be referred back to the Juvenile Court for a non-compliant event (NCE). The Probation Officer of Record will file a report with the Court detailing the specific NCE and the action taken to hold the ward accountable for the negative behavior. The Probation Officer of a ward who is testing positive for drugs and/or alcohol may also request a special hearing to address the minor’s non-compliance. The judge may refer the minor for a Drug Court screening hearing to determine the minor’s eligibility and suitability for the Drug Court program.

 Back to Top

3. Will I be kicked out of Drug Court if I relapse and test positive?

There are various sanctions that will be applied depending on the nature of a Minor’s relapse and their progress with treatment at the time of the violation. Minors will lose their sober days based on either a positive drug test or admission of relapse. Options available to the Drug Court Team for a positive test include enrollment in a short term detoxification program, detention in Juvenile Hall from three to 90 days; commitment to the Juvenile Ranch Facility Drug Dorm for 120 days; or placement at the Camp Barrett Facility for up to 270 days.

 Back to Top

4. How does Drug Court differ from other Juvenile Court substance abuse services or programs?

Drug Court differs from other substance abuse services in that it is a much more intensive drug treatment program. It is designed for juveniles who have been unsuccessful in maintaining their sobriety, despite previous drug treatment efforts, in less intensive programs. It is a collaborative, non-adversarial process which follows the federal Drug Court model (16 key elements and 11 guiding principles).

 Back to Top

5. What happens if I successfully complete Juvenile Drug Court?

Upon successful completion of the 270 day Juvenile Drug Court program, a Minor’s Juvenile petition (charges) will be dismissed. Additionally, Minors are subsequently able to request sealing of their Juvenile records either one year after the dismissal or upon turning 18.

 Back to Top

6. What are the goals of Juvenile Drug Court?

The Juvenile Drug Court promotes sobriety in order to reduce recidivism and negative behavior that will improve the quality of life while supporting safe communities and stronger families.

 Back to Top

7. Do parents/guardians participate in Drug Court?

The Juvenile Drug Court recognizes the importance of parental and/or legal guardian involvement in the Drug Court program. Parents and legal guardians are strongly encouraged to attend all JDC hearings and share information regarding their child’s progress and behavior. Parents and guardians of minors ordered to participate in the JDC may be required to take a parenting class or participate in a counseling program. Parents and guardians are required to attend an orientation meeting upon acceptance of their child in Drug Court, and to report all non-compliant events to the Probation Officer. Some treatment providers may also require that parents attend an orientation session.

 Back to Top

HelpSite MapUse/Privacy Policy

© 2018 Court Information Technology
Superior Court of California, County of San Diego