Juvenile Marriage and Domestic Partnership
California law requires a person under 18 years of age to obtain consent from at least one parent or guardian and permission in the form of a court order. Granting permission for a minor to marry or establish a domestic partnership is entirely within the discretion of the court.
The Application for Permission to Marry or Establish Domestic Partnership (SDSC Form JUV066A/JUV-066B) must be signed in the presence of the clerk of the court and must be submitted at the following address:
Central Juvenile Court
2851 Meadow Lark Drive
San Diego, CA 92123
Application for Permission for Minor(s) to Marry or Establish Domestic Partnership (JUV-066A/JUV-066B)
1. Valid California driver's license, California identification card, or current school identification card with a certified copy of the minor's birth certificate.
2. The minor must be a resident of San Diego County.
3. Parental consent in either of two forms:
- Mother, father, or legal guardian may appear in person at the Juvenile Court (2851 Meadow Lark Drive) with valid photo identification.
(NOTE: If a legal guardian is giving consent, Letters of Guardianship must be shown as proof of guardianship.)
- A notarized letter of consent from mother, father, or legal guardian.
Proof of guardianship must be shown to the notary and indicated on the consent letter. Notarized letters must include the parent's or guardian's full name, complete address, relationship to child, child's full legal name, child's date of birth, statement approving the issuance of a license for the child to marry or establish a domestic partnership, and the full name of the person the child is to marry or with whom the child plans to establish a domestic partnership. Please Note: If the name of the consenting parent does not match the parent name on the birth certificate of the minor, a second form of identification will be required showing the parent’s name as noted on the minor's birth certificate. For example, if the mother has remarried and now uses a last name that is different from the name on the minor's birth certificate, a second form of identification, such as a marriage license, will be required.
4. Family Court Services Interview
At the time the parties file the Application for Permission to Marry or Establish a Domestic Partnership with the court, each party must separately complete and submit a Family Court Services (FCS) Questionnaire Regarding Application For Permission For Minor(s) To Marry Or Establish Domestic Partnership (SDSC Form FCS-067). When the Questionnaires are submitted, an appointment for an interview with Family Court Services will be scheduled for the parties and for the consenting parent(s) or guardian(s) of minor(s) at:
This is a mandatory appointment for the parties to meet separately with a Family Court Services Counselor. After the interviews, Family Court Services will provide a report to the court pursuant to Family Code sections 302, 303, and 304.
Family Court Services Room 430
1100 Union Street
San Diego, CA 92101
The interview at Family Court Services is not required if both parties are at least 17 years of age and each party who is a minor has achieved a high school diploma or a high school equivalency (GED) certificate. Copies of the minor’s birth certificate and diploma or GED certificate must be provided to the court.
5. A hearing with a Juvenile Court judicial officer
The court must separately interview the parties before making a decision on whether to grant the application.
6. If either party has been in a previous marriage or domestic partnership, that party must provide proof of divorce, annulment, termination of the domestic partnership, entry of a judgment of dissolution or nullity of the domestic partnership, or death of the former spouse or domestic partner.
The date of the final decree of divorce, annulment, termination, or dissolution or nullity of the domestic partnership must be prior to the date of the application for permission to marry or establish a domestic partnership.
7. In some cases, the court may require the parties to participate in premarital counseling or counseling concerning social, economic, and personal responsibilities incident to the domestic partnership with a marriage counselor licensed to practice in the State of California, or with an ordained minister, priest, or rabbi. For the purpose of the counseling, an ordained person is one who has an active congregation.
Proof of compliance must be in the form of a letter. The letter must be on letterhead stationery and include the following:
- The counselor's license number, if from a marriage counselor
- The counselor's professional recommendation
- A statement that both parties have been counseled together for at least three (3) hours
- A statement listing the topics covered and any areas of growth emphasized.
There is no fee for filing the Application for Permission to Marry or Establish Domestic Partnership. The County Recorder's Office collects a fee for issuing a marriage license or for registering the parties' declaration of domestic partnership after the court grants permission to marry or establish a domestic partnership.
In some cases, California law imposes a 30-day waiting period between the date the court order is signed and the date the parties can request a marriage license or file a declaration of domestic partnership. The court order will state whether the waiting period applies.