SCSD HomeIn observance of the Memorial Day statewide holiday, the San Diego Superior Court will close all courtrooms and business offices on Monday, May 28, 2018.
Court Seal, Superior Court of California, County of San Diego

Traffic HomeTraffic Home  
Ticket InformationTicket Information  
Financial Hardship and Inability to PayFinancial Hardship and Inability to Pay  
Traffic SchoolTraffic School  
LocationsLocations  
Frequently Asked QuestionsFrequently Asked Questions  
FormsForms  
Appearing In CourtAppearing In Court  
Failure to AppearFailure to Appear  
Pleading Not GuiltyPleading Not Guilty  
Legal InformationLegal Information  
AppealsAppeals  
DMV - CA Dept. of Motor VehiclesDMV - CA Dept. of Motor Vehicles  





Superior Court of California - County of San Diego: Traffic: Appearing In Court
Court Appearance Information

Effective March 1, 2018, appointments are required to appear in court for East County, South County, and Vista Traffic courts. Bail is not required to appear in court.

If you have a financial hardship and can show that you are unable to pay the full amount for the offenses on your traffic ticket, you may request the court to consider your ability to pay in setting or reducing the fine amount, ask for an installment plan based on your ability to pay, or ask to consider community service. You can do this by:

  1. Appearing in court to make this request. (An appointment is required to appear in court.) Click here for court times and scheduling.
  2. Filing or mailing a written request to the Court.

If you are unable to make a scheduled court ordered fine payment due to financial hardship, you may do any of the following:

  1. Request a 30-day extension to pay (maximum two extensions) by phone or mail. Click here for court contact information.
  2. Appear at the Traffic Business Office and:
    1. Request a 30-day extension to pay;
    2. Request a reduction of the fine;
    3. Request community service/volunteer work for up to half the total fine; and/or
    4. Request a payment plan, or reduction in payment amount (if above $35/month)
  3. Request a courtroom appearance to ask the court to consider your ability to pay. (An appointment is required to appear in court.) Click here for court appearance information.
  4. File or mail a written explanation of your financial hardship and inability to pay to the court. The court will mail you a response to that request. Any prior orders in your case requiring payment will remain in effect until the court rules on your request.



East County Division

Infractions:

Effective March 1, 2018, ALL COURTROOM APPEARANCES are by appointment only and must be scheduled in advance, including the appearance date on your ticket. To schedule a courtroom appearance click here or call 619-456-4100 Mon-Fri 8:30 a.m. - 11:30 a.m. Unscheduled courtroom appearances are not allowed. When appearing for a scheduled courtroom appearance you must check in 30 minutes before your scheduled time.

No reservations are available for Criminal matters at this time.
Click Court Appearance Information Sheet (MO-042 EC) for additional court appearance information.

Misdemeanors:

All MISDEMEANOR COURTROOM APPEARANCES are by appointment only and must be scheduled in advance. You may schedule a courtroom appearance in the Traffic Business Office Monday - Friday 8:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m. Unscheduled courtroom appearances are NOT allowed.



Central Division (Kearny Mesa)

Infractions:

ALL COURTROOM APPEARANCES are by appointment only
and must be scheduled in advance. To schedule a courtroom appearance click here or call (858) 634-1800, Mon-Fri 8:30 a.m.-11:30 a.m. Unscheduled courtroom appearances are NOT allowed. When appearing for a scheduled courtroom appearance in Dept. B, you must arrive 30 minutes before your scheduled time and check-in with the clerk at Window A before entering the courtroom.

Cases with a warrant or that have been referred to the collection agency require a visit to the courthouse during business office hours to schedule a courtroom appearance. Unscheduled courtroom appearances are NOT allowed.
Click Court Appearance Information Sheet (MO-042 C) English/Spanish for additional court appearance information.



North County Division

Infractions:

Effective March 1, 2018, ALL COURTROOM APPEARANCES are by appointment only and must be scheduled in advance, including the appearance date on your ticket. To schedule a courtroom appearance click here or call 760-201-8500 Mon-Fri 8:30 a.m. - 11:30 a.m. Unscheduled courtroom appearances are not allowed. When appearing for a scheduled courtroom appearance you must check in 30 minutes before your scheduled time.

No reservations are available for Criminal matters at this time.
Click Court Appearance Information Sheet (MO-042 NC) for additional court appearance information.

Misdemeanors:

All MISDEMEANOR COURTROOM APPEARANCES are by appointment only and must be scheduled in advance. You may schedule a courtroom appearance in the Traffic Business Office Monday - Friday 8:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m. Unscheduled courtroom appearances are NOT allowed.



South County Division

Infractions:

Effective March 1, 2018 ALL COURTROOM APPEARANCES are by appointment only and must be scheduled in advance. To schedule a courtroom appearance click here or call 619-746-6200, Mon-Fri 8:30 a.m. - 1130 a.m. Unscheduled courtroom appearances are NOT allowed. You must arrive 30 minutes before your scheduled time and check-in with the clerk at Station X on the first floor lobby (between the escalators) before entering the courtroom.

No reservations are available for Criminal matters at this time.
Click Court Appearance Information Sheet (MO-042 SC) for additional court appearance information.

Misdemeanors:

All misdemeanor courtroom appearances are by appointment only and must be scheduled in advance. You may schedule an appointment for a courtroom appearance with the Business Office Monday- Friday 7:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.



Request an Extension of Appearance Date

An extension is a postponement of the original appearance date on a citation.

The court may grant a one-time 30-day extension to the appearance date on eligible citations. No further extensions at the end of the 30-day period will be given.

The following options are available to request a one-time 30-day extension on or before your appearance date:

  • Online: (click Request Extension to begin now).
  • Mail: Send request to the San Diego Superior Court at the address on your courtesy notice or citation.
  • Fax: Fax request to the appropriate office location.
  • Express Drop Box: Most locations also provide an Express Drop Box to allow you to submit your request.
  • In Person: Appear at the appropriate office location during normal business hours.
  • Phone: Call the appropriate office location during normal business hours.



HelpSite MapUse/Privacy Policy

© 2018 Court Information Technology
Superior Court of California, County of San Diego