SCSD HomeThe San Diego Superior Court will be closed Friday, July 3rd, in observance of the Independence Day statewide holiday.
Court Seal, Superior Court of California, County of San Diego
General Information HomeGeneral Information Home  
News and NoticesNews and Notices  
Judges and DepartmentsJudges and Departments  
Rules of CourtRules of Court  
Accessing Court RecordsAccessing Court Records  
Fee TableFee Table  
Hours and holidaysHours and holidays  
Contact UsContact Us  
SelfHelp CenterSelfHelp Center  
Purchasing & ContractingPurchasing & Contracting  
Media and EducationMedia and Education  
Volunteer OpportunitiesVolunteer Opportunities  
Related LinksRelated Links  
About UsAbout Us  

Superior Court of California - County of San Diego: General Information: Rules of Court: Department Rules: Department 71
Department 71 Policies and Procedures - Honorable Ronald S. Prager
Central - Hall of Justice
Rev. March 29, 2013

Honorable Ronald S. Prager, Presiding

Department Staff:
Calendar Clerk: (619) 450-7325- Phone hours: 8:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m.
Court Clerk: (619) 450-7071

  1. All parties and their counsel are to comply with the California Rules of Court and the San Diego Superior Court Rules, Division II, Civil.

  2. Trial Calls: Counsel will appear on Friday at 8:45 a.m., or at such other times as the Court may designate.

  3. Ex Parte matters will be heard by reservation, Monday through Thursday at 8:15 a.m., and at such other times as the Court may designate. Reservations shall be made by calling the calendar clerk at (619) 450-7325. Ex parte fee and papers are due the day before by 10:00 a.m.

  4. Case Management Conferences: CMCs are scheduled on Fridays at 1:15 p.m., or at such other times as the Court may designate.


  1. The Law and Motion Hearings: This Department follows the tentative ruling procedure of the California Rules of Court. Motion hearings are Friday at 10:00 a.m. or on such other days and times as the Court may designate. Tentative rulings are on the Internet at: at 4 p.m. the day preceding oral argument.

Policies and Procedures

Central Division - Main Courthouse
Department 46 
Honorable Lisa Schall
Department 48 
Hon.Lorna A. Alksne
Department 52 
Hon. William R. Nevitt, Jr

Central Division - Hall of Justice
Department 61 
Hon. John S. Meyer
Department 62 
Hon. Ronald L. Styn
Department 65 
Hon. Joan M. Lewis
Department 66 
Hon. Joel M. Pressman
Department 67 
Hon. Eddie C. Sturgeon
Department 68 
Hon. Judith F. Hayes
Department 69 
Hon. Katherine A. Bacal
Department 70 
Hon. Randa Trapp
Department 71 
Hon. Ronald S. Prager
Department 72 
Hon. Timothy B. Taylor
Department 73 
Hon. Joel R. Wohlfeil
Department 74 
Hon. Kevin A. Enright
Department 75 
Hon. Richard E. L. Strauss

Madge Bradley
Probate Department PC 1 
Hon. Jeffrey S. Bostwick
Probate Department PC 2 
Hon. Julia Craig Kelety

East County Division
Department 21 

North County Division
Department N-26 
Hon. Sim von Kalinowski
Department N-27 
Hon. Jacqueline M. Stern
Department N-28 
Hon. Earl H. Maas, III
Department N-29 
Hon. Robert P. Dahlquist
Department N-31 
Hon. Timothy M. Casserly
HelpSite MapUse/Privacy Policy

2014 Court Information Technology
Superior Court of California, County of San Diego