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By: A. Husted, Deputy

IN THE SUPERIOR COURT OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA
IN AND FOR THE COUNTY OF SAN DIEGO

IN RE: AMENDMENT TO LOCAL RULE 3.1.3 ) GENERAL ORDER OF THE
} PRESIDING DEPARTMENT

ORDER NO. 120720-108
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Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the Governor of California declared a state of
emergency in this state. The President of the United States has also declared a national
emergency. The COVID-19 pandemic continues to cause significant health and safety concerng
nationally, throughout the State of California, and in San Diego County.

In response to the pandemic, the court was closed to the public and suspended services,
except for certain time-sensitive and essential functions, from March 17 through May 22, 2020,
inclusive. (See General Orders of the Presiding Department, Ord. Nos. 031820-34, 040320-39,
and 043020-47.) Although the court has resumed most services, the pandemic continues to cause
various operational impediments for the court and its Justice Partners.
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The San Diego City Attorney’s Office has requested the timeframe in San Diego Superior
Court Local Rules, rule 3.1.3, be extended. The San Diego Public Defender’s Office does not
oppose the request.

For good cause, and pursuant to the court’s inherent supervisory and administrative
authority, this court hereby orders that San Diego Superior Court Local Rules, rule 3.1.3, ig
amended to change the timeline for administrative dismissal of a case as follows:

If a defendant fails to appear in court for arraignment after a notify letter has been
issued by the prosecutor in a misdemeanor case, the court will set a date 365 days
in the future by which time the prosecutor will decide if he or she will file an
Affidavit In Support of Arrest Warrant. If the prosecutor files an affidavit within
this 365-day period, the case will be referred to the designated criminal
department for issuance of a warrant. If no affidavit is filed within 365 days, the
case will be dismissed for lack of prosecution unless the prosecutor petitions the
court within this 365-day period and shows good cause for an extension of time to
either send a notify letter or to file an Affidavit in Support of Arrest Warrant.

This rule does not apply to domestic violence, drug court and Penal Code section
1210 et seq. cases.

The amendment to this rule is not intended to affect any other right or responsibility a
party may otherwise have in a case.

This order shall take effect immediately, and shall remain in effect until rescinded by the

Presiding Judge.

IT IS SO ORDERED.

-
Y U
DATED: December 7, 2020 \‘ 4

HON. LORNA A. ALKSNE
PRESIDING JUDGE
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